Reblogging

Today in the lecture it was brought to light the issue of reblogging.  Due to being in my own little bubble over the last week I had missed this until this morning.  This evening I thought I’d catch up on some blogs after completing more of the learning path and having some interesting things to blog about.  As I was scrolling through the recent posts I came across David’s blog post about reblogging and had a read.  Firstly can I say, I love the way David addresses issues as they are raised!!  He investigates them, has formulated statistics, broken those statistics down even further for those of us who struggle with that (I’m referring to myself HA!) and then provides all of this information to us.  So thank you David!  

It was interesting to see how the conversation developed today and the different perspectives on reblogging.  I was more inclined to lean on the side of good faith, maybe these students didn’t do this with deceptive intentions, clearly the optimist in me coming out.  I have never reblogged, I’ve always just created links, I guess because I’m comfortable and familiar with this.  My argument today was, if people are concerned about having their blogs “plagiarised” and I do use the term loosely, then as with making a link to another students blog, don’t you have to “approve” the reblogging of the post?  I could be wrong, this is an assumption on my behalf as I’ve never reblogged and I’m unsure of the process I just guessed it would be similar to that of making links.  Let’s assume I’m right (for the sake of humoring me if nothing else), then we could just not “approve” the reblog?

After all the controversy I’m definitely steering clear of reblogging, but I do hope the people that have done so, have done it not knowing that it would benefit them and lessen their workload.  Rather, just to share and engage with other students. 

Just my opinion, that’s all 🙂

Lesson Planning

A little late I know, as it was done last week.  Assignments seemed to just overtake things in the last week.  So anyway, I found this activity awesome and something that I could definitely refer back to time and time again.  It was amazing how my list flowed so quickly and before I knew it there were definite things that I am aware of when it comes to planning.  I also loved the fact that other people have shared their lists via their blogs like Corinna, Amanda and this one as well.  I love seeing what other people have done, the similarities, differences and sometimes things I had never considered!

So here’s my list:

  • Be flexible
  • Clear instructions – even if its step by step only one thing at a time(dependent on students)
  • Over plan – nothing worse than finishing early and not having enough prepared, so have a little bag of trick you can pull out at any time
  • Set clear goals and expectations – outlining learning that will take place so students are aware of what is going on, letting them know your expectations with regard to behaviour
  • Know which behaviour management techniques you are going to use 
  • Differentiation – catering for ALL learners as best you can, I try to plan for three different levels at least
  • Know your students – their limitations, behaviours, abilities, likes and dislikes
  • Plan a range of activities – hands-on, engaging – mix it up to ensure engagement throughout the whole lessson
  • Always include reflection, an opportunity to recap – whether it be asking questions in relation to content, asking students to identify their learning in the lesson, what was the best/worst part
  • Set up before hand where possible
  • Check ICTs are working

Bec 🙂