Meeting my Mentor!!!!

I’m super excited to be getting to meet my mentor teacher this afternoon and then I get the opportunity to spend some time with the class on Wednesday which will be awesome, couldn’t be happier.  I have a grade 6 class, the highest I’ve ever had! What always concerns me with the older grades is my content knowledge.  So in preparation I checked out the schools website which has a unit overview for the term and a brief description of what they will be learning for each learning area.  This helped me to be able to narrow down what I need to be researching.  I’ve also been emailing with the teacher and she’s said she would like me to teach history, also a bonus because I’ve bee doing the History subject this semester so I can put some of that knowledge into practice.  

So I began searching around and remembered others had mentioned how helpful Australian Curriculum Lessons had been, and true to other students word I found some great stuff to start with that I can adapt and build upon.  There was a link to another website also called Lesson Planet which I also found really helpful and I’ve also gone back to the TES website too!

All will be invaluable!! Well, wish me luck this afternoon and good luck to you all with your planning and preparation 🙂